The Intolerable foul language in Ghana’s politics

I am a happy Ghanaian. I love my country by default. I don’t see myself as a national of another state. If I should come back to earth after my eventual demise, I will beg the good Lord to still post me to Ghana. However, if I had my ways, there is one thing I will delete, expunge and even excommunicate from the general discourse in Ghana. Are you wondering what that it is? I am talking about the ‘foul language’ of Ghanaian politicians.

To you folks who have been in Ghana before, or those of you who follow the Ghanaian political happenings, you should know what I am talking about. As for my fellow Ghanaians, their ears have all been accustomed to this foul language from our law makers and ‘wanna-be’ law makers.

I honestly think the Ghanaian political ecosystem is one of the most liberal in the world. But is that an excuse for our politicians to transform the media into an arena for insults. The media has created a lot of content around our politicians thereby giving them the opportunity to present their various ideology to the electorates, especially the youth. However, this opportunity has been turned into something else.

It is only in this part of the world that a sitting President is insulted on a daily basis, in the media with impunity. I wonder what the story would have been if we were living under a dictator.

Albeit our democracy is thriving, in our efforts to make it work more efficiently, the politics of insult should be first thing to be eliminated. I believe it is high time, our learned politicians devoid their daily banter of invectives. I personally don’t see how insulting a political opponent or lunching personal attacks on opponent can win somebody a vote.

Contrary to perceptions, Ghanaians are very discerning. So those politicians who really think attacking the persons of their political opponents and not their ideology could win the votes, we live to see.

I am particularly concerned about the example these politicos are setting for the youth. The youth consider most of these politicians as role models. People they aspire to be when they to get to that stage. Not forgetting the fact that politicians draw a huge following in the youth.

How then do we see our future, when those who will be taking the mantle of leadership of this country are not learning from the best possible teachers?

This question calls for serious contemplation. It is this time we take these politicians on. It is time we tell them enough is enough. Having the monopoly over our media, does not give them the moral rights to corrupt our children, their children. I wonder how such politicians will reprimand their own children when they engage in such violent act in public or are in the wrong.

Isn’t it pathetic that law-makers in this country don’t abide by the laws they shoved down the public’s throat? I am always appalled and ashamed when I listen to our politicians for I think act like backward people. How on earth do they get to become our leaders?

The ordinary citizens have had enough of economic hardships already. The economic burden is a reality they have come to accept. But adding this uncultured attitude to it, is something I am not sure is logical. If you can’t fix our economy, if you can’t create jobs for the teeming youth and if you can’t make our lives less expensive please spare us your foul language, then give us a break. Your messages are obsolete and we are tired of them.

Written by Adzeoda Bosco

Leave a Reply

